Mocha Chip Ice Cream

IMG_9166This month has been a blur, but I have found some time for things I enjoy. One of those things is chocolate. Every month We Should Cocoa, hosted by Choclette and Chele. This month’s challenge asked me to get my ice cream maker out of hiding.  With how hot it was out, this request was not opposed. In fact, this month’s theme has led me to make several different ice cream recipes (including roast peach and a strawberry batch as well.) But I’m a chocolate girl, so this mocha chip ice cream has been my favorite thus far.

The recipe comes from the first (and only) ice cream cookbook I have. It’s an ice cream book by Ben and Jerry who I believe to be the kings of ice cream. The ice cream was so creamy and delicious. I’m so glad I took that ice cream maker out.

We_Should_Cocoa_V3

Mocha Chip Ice Cream

Ingredients
2 cups heavy cream
1 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar
4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 packet Starbucks VIA coffee
2 large eggs
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions

1. Mix the cream, milk, sugar, cocoa, and coffee in a mixing bowl until well blended. Whisk the eggs together in another bowl until light yellow. Pour the eggs into the cream and stir until well blended.

2. Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze to the manufacturer’s instructions.

3. Add the chocolate chips after the ice cream stiffs (about 2 minutes before it’s done.) Then continue freezing until the ice cream is ready.

4. Place in a container and freeze over night.

* makes 1 quart
* Besides We Should Cocoa, this recipe is being shared with Tasteful Tuesdays

2 responses

  1. Mocha has to be one of my favourite flavours. I have an ice cream maker too, somewhere in the depths of the cupboards – I’m going to have to root mine out too!

  2. Gosh, I can see why people have ice-cream makers now. That sounds an awful lot easier than making a custard based ice-cream by hand. It sounds delicious and I suspect with that coffee in it, CT would ensure it wouldn’t be living in our freezer for long. Thank you for joining in with We Should Cocoa 🙂

Leave a comment