Pork Chops Chinese-Style

IMG_9309

 

We truly went random this month at Dom’s Random Recipes. The random number generator told me that #8 was the cookbook to choose. #8 on my shelf was a book I got for free called Wok Cookery by Ceil Dyer. I had not used this cookbook yet – for one big reason. I do not own a wok. I really want a wok, but I have not purchased one (for no good reason.) Even sitting here, having cooked from Wok Cookery, I still do not own a wok. I just made it work with what I did own. After digging through my cooking collection I opted to use my double broiler. I’ve never thought to do meat in it before. It worked perfectly.

I did not let the pork chop marinate as long as I was instructed. I mean, I had all day. I could have. But I didn’t actually read the recipe until I was going to make it. I ended up marinating the pork for about 30 minutes. I’m sure the additional time would have made these even better, but I’m not complaining. The flavor was great. They were very tender. And served on top of a big mound of fried rice, I was pretty happy.

I’m not going to include the fried rice recipe, because.. It’s fried rice. But just in case you’re curious, it has onions, garlic, red bell pepper, corn, green onions, cashews, and soy sauce in it.

randomrecipes2

Pork Chops Chinese-Style

Ingredients
4 boneless pork chops, trimmed
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup chili sauce
3/4 cup white wine
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt

Directions

1. Place pork chops in a shallow dish. Combine the remaining ingredients and pour over the pork. Turn the chops several times and pierce the pork chops with a fork. Let marinate at room temperature for 2 or 3 hours (or a half hour if you’re like me.)

2. Fill a double broiler with water. Bring to a simmer. Place the pork chops on the top part of the double broiler. Cover and steam for 1 hour.

* serves 4
* Besides Random Recipes, this is shared with Mix It Up Monday
2 responses

Leave a Reply

