Biscuits and Bratwurst Gravy

IMG_9769

Food ‘n Flix this month introduced me to a movie that is now on my list of favorites. Hosted over at Eliot’s Eats, this month we watched August: Osage County. This was a movie on my to-watch list, that for some reason I never got around to. Julia Roberts is one of my favorite actresses, but beyond that, this was a very deep movie. I usually find that foodie movies don’t have the most depth, but this was the exception. I don’t know if I would particularly call this movie a foodie movie, but there were definitely many food references and images.

This movie involved so many relationships – dramatic, dark family relationships.

august-osage-county02

This movie depicts a very troubled family, family that has each of their own desires, motivations, and wills. And while, like I said, not really a food movie, a lot of their conversations, revelations, and arguments happen at the table, surrounded by food.

At one point in the movie, Violet (as played by Meryl Streep – the mother) says to her daughter Barbara (as played by Julia Roberts,) that the last time she saw her husband, “the Indian girl” made biscuits and gravy.

Well… I love biscuits and gravy, so that was that. Now, let’s explain this dish, shall we?

I was sort of lazy, hence the Pillsbury biscuits. But the gravy? I made that. And gravy is super easy to make. So, really, this was a super easy meal. We had breakfast for dinner when we had this dish. Earlier in the day we were at the cell phone store getting a new phone and somehow biscuits and gravy were brought us. The sales guy suggested making the gravy with bratwurst. So, I did! And it was delicious.

Luckily, we didn’t have any fights around our table. Actually, I think we ate on our laps on the couch watching TV, so perhaps that’s dysfunctional too.

FoodnFlix

Biscuits and Bratwurst Gravy

Ingredients
1 can of Pillsbury biscuits, baked according to the directions on the package
6 bratwurst links, chopped into pieces
2 tbsp butter
3 tbsp flour
2 cups milk
plenty of pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Cook the bratwurst over medium heat, until browned on all sides.
  2. Add the butter to the pan. Once melted, sprinkle in the flour and cook for about 1 minute.
  3. Whisk in half of the milk.
  4. Add the remaining milk and whisk together, until thickened.
  5. Tear your biscuits up and serve with gravy on top.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Food ‘n Flix Round-Up for August: Osage County « Eliot's Eats

  2. You’re doing all completely wrong. You take the brats out of the casings and brown/crumble them. Then proceed with the rat of the recipe. You didn’t tear your biscuits into chunks, you simply open them and spoon the gravy on top.

Leave a comment