Beer Battered Grilled Cheese

I missed last month’s Crazy Cooking Challenge (blueberry muffins) because I just forgot to post the link. I made these delicious blueberry rum muffins, but oh well.

This month’s challenge was to make a grilled cheese sandwich. And with grilled cheese sandwiches comes a story from my youth. When I was little my mom loved grilled cheese sandwiches. And if I recall correctly, we had them quite often. But I didn’t realize they were called grilled cheese sandwiches. What I heard was girled cheese sandwiches. I would always get upset that my brother was getting a girled cheese for lunch because I thought they were part of the magical world of girl foods, or something.

In college I ate grilled cheese sandwiches a lot also, mostly because they were cheap and easy to make. A grilled cheese and tomato soup was hands down one of the best meals after a long day working for minimum wage.

This sandwich was a twist on the classic grilled cheese, having the beer batter. I probably should have cooked them a little longer to get a little crispier, but all in all, loved it!

Beer Battered Grilled Cheese
(inspiration)

Ingredients
4 slices bacon
4 slices bread
2 slices mozzarella cheese
2 slices cheddar cheese
1 egg
3/4 cup beer
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp butter

Directions

1. Cook bacon until crisp. Set aside.

2. On 2 slices of bread place 1 slice of mozzarella, 2 pieces of bacon, and 1 piece of cheddar cheese. Top each with a piece of bread.

3. Heat a griddle over medium-high heat. In a shallow bowl combine the egg, beer, flour, and chili powder. Dip each side of the sandwich into the batter and let absorb.

4. Melt butter on a hot griddle. Place sandwiches on griddle. Cook 3-4 minutes on each side, until golden brown.

* makes 2 sandwiches

Photobucket

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 responses

  1. Beer, bacon AND cheese in the same sandwich? I would marry that grilled cheese!! Looks amazing!!

    Stopping by from CCC #33

  2. Pingback: Top 12 For 2012 | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a comment