Curried Tomato Soup

IMG_9984

I rung in the new year with several goals for myself, one of which involves blogging at least once a week. I don’t know what it is that keeps me from doing this more regularly.

My first dinner of 2016 was grilled cheese sandwiches with tomato soup. This soup wasn’t just canned Campbell’s (which I’m not slamming!) but a curried tomato soup. It was a very warm way to start 2016 (it’s cold out!) and was a simple start to the new year.

Curried Tomato Soup

Ingredients
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 medium red onion, sliced
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp red chile flakes
1 14-oz can of whole tomatoes
3 tbsp coconut milk

Directions

  1. In a large pot melt the butter. Add the onion and salt and cook for 10 minutes, until the onions soften up.
  2. Stir in the spices and stir for 30 seconds.
  3. Stir in the tomatoes and the liquid in the cans with the juices and 3 cups of water. Simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Puree with a hand blender until smooth.
  5. Stir in the coconut milk

* serves 2
* This recipe is being shared with Beth Fish Reads’s Weekend Cooking.

5 responses

  1. The warming spices and the little bit of coconut milk make this soup sound delicious! There is nothing more comforting than grilled cheese and tomato soup. Now I have a craving.

  2. Mmmmm. I just finished off some leftover homemade tomato soup that I had made a while ago. It was even better after sitting in the fridge and I added some cream to make it cream of tomato this time. I will definitely try your recipe for curried tomato soup!

  3. Tomato soup and toasted or grilled cheese is a classic. Some people think it’s nostalgic and some eat it all the time. I’m on both sides of that fence! Curried tomato soup sounds like a really great way to go, but I’d be tempted to put some chutney on the sandwich!

    best… mae from maefood.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

