Food n’ Flix: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes Roundup

Attack of the Killer Tomatoes is everything perfect for a foodie movie for October – the month of spooks! Rather than watch a traditional foodie movie, I opted for something sort of different this month. While this movie is far from extraordinary and actually leans much farther towards the tacky-end of the scale, it inspired some beautiful dishes this month.

I’m glad no one’s tomatoes attacked them! Looks like we all managed to attack first!

Camilla at Culinary Adventures with Camilla made a special type of ketchup – “Please Pass the (Homemade) Ketchup”! For as humorless as Camilla claims to be, she definitely imparted some humor into this ketchup, based on a scene where disguise expert Sam Smith dresses as a huge tomato and asks, “Can somebody please pass the ketchup?” of the killer tomatoes. This ketchup seems like it would definitely surpass any of the bottled stuff and it doesn’t even look too hard! I may need to try my hand at this killer ketchup.

This month Heather from girlichef shares an alcoholic concoction, Spicy Crystal Head Bloody Mary.  Heather made sure to eliminate the threat of killer tomatoes from her home by mashing them and then mixing it with toxins . . . or you know, vodka. Heather’s post about her drink and the movie made me chuckle. The Crystal Head Vodka is a great choice of vodka for an October movie!

Glennis from Can’t Believe We Ate… did a great job killing her killer tomatoes too. With 35 pounds of killer tomatoes attacking her home, Glennis canned them, making Killer Canned Tomato Halves. I feel like she should send all of us a jar, because clearly she has plenty!

Deb from Kahakai Kitchen made a delicious Bread-Tomato-Garlic Soup. I am dying at the killer tomato in her photo – boy does he look scared! And he should be scared, because his killer abilities are ending and he’s getting made into soup. I really want a bowl of this soup. It looks so hearty and with fall looming (at least it’s still only looming here in Sacramento,) it would be a great way to bring in the season.

Lastly, I made a Killer BLT. This is a little fancier than just a standard bacon, lettuce, tomato sandwich – with chipotle mayonnaise and avocado added to the mix to make a killer sandwich!

And that’s a wrap! I’m glad such a silly movie inspired such delicious dishes. I’m sure there will never be another killer tomato attack after showing those tomatoes that we mean business! Good job everyone and have a Happy Halloween!

The upcoming movie for November is Julie & Julia which is going to be hosted at La Cocina de Leslie. This is one of my favorite movies, so I hope you join us for another month of food!

5 responses

  1. Killer round-up Elizabeth!! Thanks for being such a great hostess! Since we’re “neighbors” (on the internet, anyone within 100 miles is a neighbor!), I’ll see what I can do about getting a jar of Killer Tomatoes in your hands! Maybe we can arrange to meet at one of Sacramento’s great festivals sometime…I’d love to meet another foodie!

  2. Pingback: Announcing Food ‘n Flix For October: Hocus Pocus | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a comment