Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

IMG_8686I’ve been watching The Taste on ABC this season. I previously blogged about my review of the show. Nigella is my favorite of the judges on the show. She’s so poised and doesn’t engage in the antics Malarkey and Ludo can’t get away from. On top of that, she has such perfect taste buds. That might seem like an odd comment, but with a TV show called The Taste, everything really is about taste buds and flavors. Unlike a lot of other cooking shows, the contestants aren’t graded on how their dish looks – only on how it tastes.

Unfortunately, all of Nigella’s team got eliminated from the show in the last few episodes, including my favorite Lauren. At this point I’m rooting for Khristianne on Malarkey’s team.

Anyway, with that said, this month at We Should Cocoa the theme is fame. We Should Cocoa is a monthly challenge hosted by Chocolate Teapot and Chocolate Log Blog. You can stay up to date with the comings and goings of We Should Cocoa right here. This month’s theme is hosted by Lucy at The KitchenMaid.

Lucy challenged us this month to make a famous chocolate recipe. Since I’m loving Nigella and since she’s famous, I decided I’d make a chocolate recipe of hers.

These muffins were made in a late night muffin baking spree. They made for a great morning breakfast. The flavors were delicious, the recipe is easy. Did I say I loved Nigella?

Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins
(source)

Ingredients
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp cocoa powder
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup skim milk
1/3 cup + 2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 400.

2. In a large bowl mix together the dry ingredients. In a smaller bowl whisk together the wet ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix, making sure to stir enough to not have dry clumps, but don’t overmix.

3. Place cupcake liners in the cupcake tin. Divide the batter between the cups. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick pricked into the middle of the muffins comes out clean.

* makes 12 muffins
* Besides We Should Cocoa, this recipe has been shared with See Ya In The Gumbo

7 responses

  1. I’ve always enjoyed all of the Nigella recipes I’ve tried. I would agree about her taste buds! Of course I will like chocolate chocolate chip muffins! Thanks for linking this week. I’m working on my Pantry Party post right now.

  2. Delicious and easy has won me over. Not, if truth be told, that I needed winning over. I’ve always found Nigella’s recipes to be excellent and reliable. Thanks for joining in with We Should Cocoa.

Leave a comment