Pantry Party May Round Up

pantry

This month at Pantry Party we shared our stuffed recipes. This theme brought a ton of variation, because not only are there many different types of food that can be stuffed but there are also many different ways you can stuff food – allowing for much diversity among the recipes. These may be my favorite types of themes because I never know what to expect. This month’s Pantry Party brought a delightful variety. 

I’m currently in the middle of studying for the California State Bar Exam which is conducted at the end of July/beginning of August. This is a nice little break after my 8-hour day of studying.

The next theme will be posted June 1st, so be looking for it!

crawfish stuffed grilled peppers 3

The first dish comes from Michelle over at Ms. enPlace. Michelle shared these beautifully colored Crawfish Stuffed Grilled Peppers. After catching some crawfish Michelle needed to make them. She shares some information about Louisiana crawfish boils. My family actually has a crawfish boil every year too (despite us living in California.) I’m hoping I can make it this year (and pull myself away from the books for one day) because I’d love some leftover crawfish to make these.

photo
Chris from A Kitchen Hoor shares with us the next dish: Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Mini Meatloaves. I love mini food, so these little mini bundles of meat stuffed with cheese are too cute. The flavors sound great as well. What a great looking dinner.

DSCN2734

Next dish up shares the one type of dish that got repeated several times in these stuffed recipes. Lori from Lori’s Culinary Creations shared her Turkey Stuffed Peppers. I love how many different varieties we can get with a stuffed pepper – what a great shell for stuffing. These peppers include barbecue sauce, ketchup, and Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb seasoning (amongst many other delicious ingredients.)

dsc_5165

Janet from The Taste Space showed us that other peppers can be stuffed too! Janet’s Besan-Stuffed Red Peppers utilize a different type of pepper to get stuffed. I’ve never heard of besan before. I love Janet’s blog and her recipes because I’m constantly being exposed to new ingredients and great ideas. To get the seeds out without cracking the pepper Janet had to use some skill. She seems super skilled in her kitchen generally, so I’m not surprised she succeeded!

2013-05-18 21.11.42

Moving in a different direction Ruth from Makey-Cakey shares her Date Stuffed Porridge Muffins. Ruth had made porridge muffins before, but in honor of Pantry Party she gave them a good old fashioned stuffing – stuffed with dates! Ruth also used a box of Grape Nuts she’s been scared to eat to include in the batter of the muffins. Great use of the pantry!

IMG_9009

On a similar vein of baking, I made Chicken Stuffed Rolls. Working with yeast bread, I made a chicken mixture to fill my rolls. For as much work as yeast breads can sometimes provide (and by work I really just mean time) these rolls were really easy to make.

SONY DSC

Danielle of Busy Mom’s Helper shared with us two stuffed recipes. The first is Cheese & Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms. Danielle acknowledges that mushrooms are one of those love or hate type foods. For me, I love mushrooms. I would love to pop one of these bad boys into my mouth in all their bacon and cheesey goodness.

SONY DSC

Also from Danielle and for our last recipe of the month, is the Cheesy Pesto Stuffed Chicken. For as delicious as I’m sure this recipe is (because basil is great and pesto is great) this doesn’t look incredibly harm. It looks like a great recipe for a night when you want something that seems fancy but don’t feel like slaving away in the kitchen! Perfect!

Now, I told you – stuffed was a great theme. It left us with 3 pepper recipes, meatloaf, muffins, bread, chicken, crawfish, mushrooms… There was such an incredible amount of diversity in the dishes! So fun! Next month’s theme will be announced on the 1st. Thanks for joining this month and I hope to see you next month!

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Pantry Party June Round Up | lawstudentscookbook

  2. Pingback: Turkey Stuffed Yellow Peppers

Leave a comment