Baked Reuben Sandwich

IMG_9096

 

This month’s Alphbakes letter is the letter R! Alphabakes is a monthly round up hosted by Caroline Makes . . . and The more than occasional cook. Each month a letter is picked and what are bloggers supposed to do ? Bake the letter of course!

When I first saw R I thought I should do raspberry something (which I still might do actually.) But I’m not one who likes predictability. Instead I decided to go as far from raspberries as I could get: a reuben sandwich.

When I was little my mom made reubens all the time. Of course, she did it the right way. She used corned beef. She used rye bread. But… I can’t find sliced corned beef at my grocery store nor did I really feel like making corned beef. So I opted for another cured meat: pastrami. It’s not quite the same, but it’s salt like corned beef.

Now obviously, this isn’t the standard reuben at all. A reuben is a sandwich on rye with corned beef, sauerkraut, swiss cheese, and thousand island dressing. So, my reuben maybe shouldn’t even be called a reuben, but it had the same taste I vividly remember from the sandwiches my mom used to make.

AlphaBakes Logo

Baked Reuben Sandwich
(source)

Ingredients
2 cups bisquick
1 cup milk
1 egg
2 tsp caraway seeds
1/2 lb sliced pastrami
1/4 cup deli style mustard
6 slices swiss cheese
1 14-oz can sauerkraut
1/2 cup thousand island dressing

Directions

1. In a large bowl mix together the bisquick, milk, eggs, and 1 tsp of the caraway seeds. Spread the 1/2 of the bisquick mixture onto the bottom of a 5-inch baking dish.

2. Spread the mustard all over the pastrami. Layer the pastrami on top of the bisquick. Cover with cheese. Spread the sauerkraut on top. Sread the remaining bisquick over the sauerkraut and sprinkle the top with the remaining 1 tsp of caraway seeds.

3. Bake for 30 minutes. Serve with the thousand island dressing on the side.

* serves 6
* besides Alphabakes, this recipe is shared with Pantry Party’s Cheese Theme, & Mix It Up Monday

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Pantry Party June Round Up | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a comment