Cuban Sandwiches

I’m the worst blogger ever. Life has kept me busy. Work has kept me busy. I would say I promise to be better, but that might just end being another lie. I don’t mean to be a liar . . . But it probably wouldn’t be the truth.

But I did participate in this month Food ‘n Flix! Are you proud of me?

chef

This month’s movie, Chef, was hosted by Culinary Adventures by Camilla. I had been intending to watch this movie for some time, but it took Food ‘n Flix to kick me in gear.

Chef is a movie for any foodie. A chef, Carl Casper, loses his job and tries to put his stuff back together – to find his drive. And what does he do? He opens a food truck, featuring Cuban Sandwiches!

There was a ton of choices in this movie. My list includes andouille sausage sandwiches, french onion soup, noodles of some sort, try to make something relating to Twitter, breakfast . . . There were a ton of choices.

But I decided to go the sandwich route, the Cuban sandwich route, in honor of the food truck.

The sandwich was delicious. I have so much pork now though, I’ll be eating pork for a week.

And this wasn’t the greatest picture . . . but I tried. I at least tried.

IMG_1003

Cuban Sandwiches

Ingredients
roast pork
several slices of deli ham
mayonnaise
mustard
sliced pickles
sandwich rolls
butter

Directions

1. Heat butter in a cast iron skillet.

2. Prepare the sandwiches. Spread mayonnaise and mustard on the bun. Layer with the ham, pork, and mustard on the roll.

3. Place in the skillet in the melted butter. Toast until golden brown on both sides of the bread.

Roast Pork

Ingredients
1 head garlic, minced
2 tbsp salt
6 cups orange juice
3 cups lemon juice
3 cups lime juice
2 onions, diced
1 tbsp oregano
3 cups olive oil
7 lbs pork shoulder

Directions

1. Combine all the ingredients except the pork. Place the pork in the marinade and let marinate overnight.

2. Preheat oven to 325. Cook for 3 1/2 hours (or 30 minutes per pound of pork.)

FoodnFlix

5 responses

  1. I cheated and used leftover pork loin from the freezer. I admire those of you who made marinated pork. Glad you were able to post.

Leave a comment