Iced Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_9610

My favorite blog event of the year has arrived! It is the 3rd Annual Christmas Cookie Exchange, hosted by White Lights on Wednesday, Real Housemoms, {i love} my disorganized life, Around My Family Table, Pink Cake Plate, The Cards We Drew, Miss Information, and Dimple Prints! This is the 3rd year where bloggers are paired up and share cookie recipes with each other for the other to make. Last year I made chocolate on chocolate cookies. This year is the polar opposite!

Melissa from Persnickety Plates shared two oatmeal cookies with me that she’s made. I chose the iced variety, though my icing was a lot thinner than hers was. Actually, my entire cookie looks very different than hers despite following the directions. It goes to show how much altitude as well as weather can affect the results of baking. I moved in July to a place that is 3,300 feet above sea level. I have never lived above sea level at all in the past – everywhere I’ve lived has always been either on the coast itself or sea level. I never realized how much of a difference this actually could make – but it does! I’m sure the glaze wasn’t affected by the sea level though – it could have been affected by the heat here.

Regardless, my cookies still tasted delightful. Having these with a cup of tea or a cup of coffee was a great way to enjoy them.

I don’t usually make oatmeal cookies. I especially don’t usually make cookies that don’t have chocolate in them. I am quite the chocolate fiend. But I did find an appreciation for these! My boyfriend loved them also and they disappeared around here very quickly.

I need to make some more cookies this holiday season. I’ve been slacking off and been busy with work. In other news, I finally got my mantel decorated!

Hopefully I post some more cookie posts this season. Everyone needs some cookies in their lives!

And hopefully we do this again next year!

Cookie-Swap-Vert

Iced Oatmeal Cookies
makes 3 dozen cookies
Original Recipe Post

Ingredients
For the cookies
2 cups old fashioned oats
2 cups flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup butter (2 sticks), I used salted
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

For the glaze
1 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 Tablespoons milk

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Process rolled oats in a food processor for 10 seconds.

3. In a large bowl, add the ground oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Whisk together.

4. In the bowl of your stand mixer, add the butter and sugars and cream together.

5. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing in between each addition. Add in the vanilla and mix.

6. Pour in the flour mixture, gradually, until well combined.

7. Use a cookie scoop to place 12 per baking sheet.

8. Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges begin to brown.

9. Cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

10. Meanwhile, make the glaze in a shallow bowl. Add the powdered sugar and milk and whisk until smooth.

11. Take a cooled cookie and quickly dip the top into the glaze and let the excess drip off. Place back onto the wire rack until the glaze sets.

Because wordpress hates me since I haven’t purchased a domain, I can’t link the linksys directly. Click here to see everyone else’s cookies!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Magic In The Middles | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a comment